Sunday, September 2, 2012

Another trial of Napoleon at War.


Four of the Brothers assembled amongst the flotsam and jetsam of my games room ( read : garage)  to continue with our trial of the new Napoleon at War (NaW)rules. Now I must confess I have begun to really like these new rules even though a year ago I rebased my large Ottoman army for Lasalles only to find that the Brothers recently switched to NaW . They are fast, bloody, not too complicated and produce an enjoyable game. My main complaint is that they are appallingly written with bits and pieces everywhere that require a bit of cross referencing  and looking back and forth through the rules. But no matter, when the game starts it flows easily and there are some really interesting little nuances in the rules.


The Initial Deployment

Richard brought his 1813 Prussians and they were pitted against Ross’ Poles. We didn’t worry about points but just  put a small force on the table –each side fielded  two infantry brigades, one cavalry brigade and a battery guns.

Once again, like our last trial (see previous blog) we are just learning,  so there wasn’t really meant to be a tactical problem, just a straight advance to contact and kick heads.

Turn 3: The Polish cavalry move around the flank


Close up: Prussian Infantry

Skirmishers deployed

Both sides didn't bother with any niceties but a general advance of infantry began the game. Richard and Nick also manoeuvred their cavalry for a charge through the center in support of their infantry. Ross, my CinC, had decided to swing our Polish cavalry ride in a wide arc to threaten the flank of the Prussians.

The Infantry Advance

The two Prussian columns hit the Polish line: The rules seem to imply that I could only fire at one unit- we couldn't find anything to the contrary in the book! 
 By turn 4, Ross' cavalry were ready to hit the flank of the Prussians but the Prussian infantry had formed column and charged my Polish troops who were in line. Now the rules allow you to fire at an enemy who are charging you....but the musketry rules seem to indicate that you can only fire at one enemy unit at a time. That means that although I can successfully pulverise one....I can't touch the other- strange outcome!? Anyway I fired away and caused some nasty casualties. Richard's Prussian columns had to do an unfavourable elan test...which means that he had to roll TWO dice and get 4+ on BOTH. Well I didn't count on the Nick M factor.....double 6.   Sh*t.

Both unit went in and my line was sent packing.

 The rules have an interesting mechanism to deal with charging. In the shooting phase the active player my declare firing against a target. The target unit my then return fire. This is known as 'firefight'. Then in the melee phase the active unit (that fired first) may elect to charge the target unit. The target unit then get to shoot- for a second time- ouch!. The charger must pass an elan test. If it passed, the unit goes in. If the charging unit fails the test, it retreats and fires back. It takes a while to explain, but once you get the hang of it, it works quite well!
The Prussian Guns with cavalry behind
 Richard's infantry assault was  supported by a cavalry charge against my and Ross' gun battery. Now I would have thought that he would have learnt his lesson from reading my last blog on NaW where I done the same thing. Well suffice to say that  the Prussian Hussars were deployed, moved, charged and died. Good shooting old boy!
By Turn 4 the Poles look like they will turn the Prussian Flank

Another attack of Lunacy- just like the last game- Prussian cavalry charging the Polish guns.....there wasn't too much left of Richard's beautifully painted Hussars after I rolled 12D6 at them!

Fire fight- and the Prussians are getting the upper hand


In the end it there was no conclusive outcome as it was getting late and we had spent too much time chatting about the rules rather than playing them. They seem to work well and the Brothers may become converts.

5 comments:

  1. you wouldn't be able to charge two units at the same time.You must charge one, and carry out all required actions. Then IF the target unit survives, you can launch another charge at it with the second unit. The sequence order makes this clear.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Thank you...yes we've discovered this in subsequent games!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Look like a great battle, interested in more consider yourself followed.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Nice.....we must get some more games in soon mate.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Looking very nice...looking for more!

    ReplyDelete